A warm welcome for visitors to Berlin

Service is the icing on the cake. The boulevard is happy to offer a warm welcome to visitors from all corners of the globe.

City guides are here to help you with any questions about the area. The Boulevard der Visionen (Boulevard of Visions) city walking tours will take you on a journey to past eras or future fantasies. Enjoy discounts and free travel on public transport with the “Berlin WelcomeCard”. Get access to attractions and sightseeing highlights at a cheaper rate. Travel on buses and trains is included. What’s more, you can now connect to BLVD Ku’damm WiFi and get online for free.

BLVD KU'DAMM - URBAN STAGE

Berlin is diverse & urban, loud & quiet, a place for visions, art & culture.

Berlin is not either or, but rather both. The BLVD KU’DAMM, as an internationally known experience district, combines all of this and invites you to stay. We want to celebrate the diversity of Berlin and have created a place in City West where this is possible. In order to offer a stage for temporary street art, we set up our Urban Stage on Breitscheidplatz.

Celebrate the opening of the Urban Stage with us together with Radio ENERGY on October 6th with an after-work DJ session. From 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. Berlin beats will await you under the starry sky.

Are you a musician, juggler, dancer or have other cultural talents? Then don’t hesitate to use our Urban Stage for your performance. Use this public stage and delight the guests around Ku’damm and Tauentzien with your talent. If you are planning a bigger performance that requires the appropriate equipment, please contact info@blvd-kudamm.de. Together with you we want to revive the City West and lead it into the future of street art with all its facets. Share your posts on social media with the #urbanstageberlin and tag @blvd_kudamm.

On a side note: please refrain from a graphic realization on our Urban Stage.

Your BLVD KU’DAMM team

 

 

BLVD KU'DAMM - CITY GUIDES

Just ask the “city guides”!

How do I get to Hardenbergstraße?” asked a lady clearly in a hurry. She saw the city guides just as they were passing the Europa-Center and asked them for help. It quickly became clear that the lady was going the wrong way. You can easily tell who the city guides are from the ‘I’ for ‘information’ on their clothing. They have been ensuring a warm welcome on the Kurfürstendamm and Tauentzienstraße since 2019 and are the point of contact for locals and visitors from all over the world.

Kadir Askar and Philipp Knuth are dedicated city guides who work together as a team of two. Both of them have always enjoyed helping people and find “the job truly exciting and varied”. They get the chance to interact with people from a diverse range of cultures and nationalities and are more than happy to assist them. So far, Kadir Askar says, he has never regretted giving up his job as an insurance agent to work as a service ambassador.

Visitors typically ask how to get to the KaDeWe department store or to the Gedächtniskirche. People also often ask how to find their hotels and, of course, the Bahnhof Zoo station. Visitors may also ask for restaurant recommendations, such as where to find the best Indian or Thai food. “We don’t have to think about that for very long. There is a large and varied choice of restaurants”, say the city guides, who are also multilingual. As well as German and English, they also speak Turkish.

Knuth and Askar immediately report any health and safety risks, such as damaged paving slabs, to the relevant authorities. However, they also get stuck in: per shift (core working hours are from 11.00 to 19.00 daily), there are often more than 50 e-scooters that have to be stood back up on the pavement after they have toppled over. This is a precautionary measure to prevent pedestrians from tripping over them. The city guides ask scooter users again and again not to block the pavement when parking their scooters.

Thanks to daily contact with passers-by and traders, the guides get to know what visitors want for the Ku’damm and Tauentzien, what they like and what needs to be improved.

Service ambassadors on the boulevard:
the city guides

You can tell exactly who the city guides are by what they are wearing. The teams of two are on duty everyday: on Tuesdays and Sundays from 11.00 to 19.00 and on all other days from 7.00 to 21.00. Their responsibilities, performed on their rounds between Wittenbergplatz and Uhlandstraße (Business Improvement District, BID), are varied:

They are the point of contact for all locals, professionals and visitors, whether it’s answering questions about the nearest metro station or enquiries related to visiting the BLVD Ku’damm area.

They can help with information about opening times, deals from stores and details about cultural institution programmes. When looking for a parking spot, they can also assist in finding the nearest car park.

They maintain regular contact with the police, the public order office and the city cleaning department.

City guides tel.: +49 15 154 46 06 81

BLVD KU'DAMM - WELCOMECARD

The “WelcomeCard” for our visitors

The “Berlin WelcomeCard” is the official tourist ticket for the capital and boasts a number of advantages. It also provides you with unlimited access to all public transport services across the city. Get up to 50% off many sightseeing highlights and attractions. A city guidebook with a city map is included. Alternatively, you can go for the “all inclusive” option which gives you free entry to many of Berlin’s highlights.

A range of validity periods is available. For example, a 48-hour WelcomeCard is available from €24 or a 72-hour WelcomeCard from €34. You can also purchase 4-, 5- and 6-day tickets. You have to choose whether you would like to solely visit Berlin city centre or whether you would prefer to also take a trip to the surrounding area and Potsdam.

The WelcomeCard is family friendly: With each WelcomeCard, up to 3 children aged 6 to 14 years can travel for free on buses and trains. Children under 6 years are included in the ticket.

You can purchase a WelcomeCard before your trip as an online ticket or as a mail order ticket in the “visitBerlin” online shop. Tickets are also available from transport company points of sale as well as from city train and metro ticket machines. If you purchase your WelcomeCard from a ticket machine, you can get your guide by presenting your ticket at a “Berlin Tourist Info” centre, which can be found at locations including Berlin Central Station, the Humboldt Forum and the Brandenburg Gate. In addition, many travel agencies, hotels and tour operators offer the WelcomeCard as part of their service.

Further information at
www.visitberlin.de/en/berlin-welcome-card
www.berlin-welcomecard.de/en

BLVD KU'DAMM - FREE WIFI

Free internet access

Whether you want to learn more about the city’s buildings while doing some sightseeing, grab a ticket for an evening at the theatre or book a table — you can do all this using the BLVD Ku’damm WiFi free of charge.

Locals and visitors to the city can now get online using the free public WiFi in the City West area covering approximately 1.2km of the Ku’damm and Tauentzien and also around Breitscheidplatz. This service is provided by business improvement association “BID Ku’damm Tauentzien”.

Simply connect to “BID Wireless” on your device. As well as giving you access to free WiFi, the landing page provides you with a wide range of information including places that open on Sundays, cultural events and special marketing campaigns.

Willkommenskultur

Service ist das Salz in der Suppe. Mit einer neuen Willkommenskultur begrüßt der Boulevard seine Gäste.

City Guides unterstützen bei Fragen rund um das Quartier, Stadtspaziergänge auf dem Boulevard der Visionen verführen in vergangene Epochen oder zukünftige Phantasien. Die „Berlin Welcome Card“ bietet Anreiz und Mobilität. Sehenswürdigkeiten können vergünstigt besucht werden. Bus und Bahn sind inkludiert. Und Surfen am Ku’damm ist nun kostenfrei möglich mit dem BLVD Ku’damm Wifi.

BLVD-KU'DAMM - URBAN STAGE

Berlin ist vielfältig & urban, laut & leise, ein Ort für Visionen, Kunst & Kultur.

Berlin ist nicht entweder oder, sondern vielmehr sowohl als auch. Der BLVD KU’DAMM als international bekanntes Erlebnisquartier vereint all das und lädt zum Verweilen ein. Wir möchten die Vielfalt Berlins feiern und haben in der City West einen Ort geschaffen, an dem dies möglich ist. Um temporärer Straßenkunst eine Bühne zu bieten, haben wir auf dem Breitscheidplatz unsere Urban Stage aufgebaut.

Seid dabei, wenn wir die Urban Stage am 6. Oktober zusammen mit Radio ENERGY bei einer After-Work-DJ Session eröffnen. Von 18 Uhr bis 20 Uhr erwarten Euch Berlin Beats unterm Sternenhimmel.

Ihr seid Musiker, Jongleur, Tänzer oder habt andere kulturelle Talente? Dann nutzt unsere Urban Stage für Euren Auftritt. Nutzt diese öffentliche Bühne und bereichert die Gäste rund um den Ku’damm und Tauentzien mit Eurem Programm. Solltet Ihr einen größeren Auftritt planen, der entsprechendes Equipment benötigt, meldet Euch gern unter info@blvd-kudamm.de. Gemeinsam mit Euch beleben wir die City West und führen sie in die Zukunft der Straßenkunst mit all ihren Facetten. Teilt Eure Beiträge auf Social Media: #urbanstageberlin und @blvd_kudamm.

Eine kleine Bitte haben wir: bitte seht von einer grafischen Verwirklichung auf unserer Urban Stage ab.

Euer BLVD KU’DAMM Team

BLVD-KU'DAMM - CITY GUIDES

Fragen Sie einfach die „City Guides“!

„Wo ist bitte die Hardenbergstraße?“, wendet sich eine sichtlich unter Zeitdruck stehende Frau hilfesuchend an die City Guides, die gerade das Europa-Center passieren. Schnell ist geklärt, dass die Frau die Richtung ändern sollte. Leicht erkennbar an ihrer Kleidung mit Aufdruck des „I“ für Information, sichern die City Guides seit September 2019 die Willkommenskultur auf dem Kurfürstendamm und der Tauentzienstraße und sind Ansprechpartner für Berliner und Gäste aus der ganzen Welt.

Die Kollegen Kadir Askar und Philipp Knuth arbeiten als engagierte City Guides im Zweier-Team. Beide haben schon immer gern mit Menschen zu tun gehabt und finden „die Aufgabe einfach spannend und vielfältig“. Man habe mit den unterschiedlichsten Kulturen und Nationalitäten zu tun, denen man gerne helfe. Bislang habe er es keinen Tag bereut, sagt Kadir Askar, für seine Tätigkeit als Service-Botschafter seine Arbeit als Versicherungsagent aufgegeben zu haben.

Bei den Gästen ist die klassische Frage, wie komme ich zum KaDeWe oder zur Gedächtniskirche. Auch Hotels werden oft gesucht und natürlich der Bahnhof Zoo. Auch Gastronomieempfehlungen werden nachgefragt, beispielsweise wo es ein gutes indisches oder thailändisches Restaurant gebe. „Da müssen wir nicht lange überlegen. Das Angebot ist ja sehr groß und vielfältig“, wissen die City Guides, die mehrsprachig unterwegs sind. Neben Deutsch und Englisch, ist auch Türkisch im Angebot.

Unfallgefahren wie defekte Gehwegplatten melden Knuth und Askar umgehend den zuständigen Behörden. Sie legen aber auch selbst Hand an: Pro Schicht (die Kernarbeitszeit ist täglich von 11 bis 19 Uhr) müssen oft mehr als 50 umgestürzte E-Roller auf den Gehwegen aufgestellt werden. Eine Vorsichtsmaßnahme, damit Passanten nicht darüber stolpern. Immer wieder bitten sie Scooter-Nutzer beim Abstellen der Roller, die Wege nicht zu blockieren.

Durch den täglichen Kontakt zu Passanten und Händlern erfahren die Guides, was sich die Besucher für den Ku’damm und den Tauentzien wünschen, was gefällt und was verbessert werden muss.

Service Botschafter auf dem Boulevard:
Die City Guides

Erkennbar sind die City Guides an ihrer Kleidung. Die Zweier-Teams sind tagtäglich im Einsatz, dienstags und sonntags von 11 bis 19 Uhr, an allen übrigen Tagen von 7 bis 21 Uhr. Ihre Aufgaben bei den Rundgängen zwischen Wittenbergplatz und Uhlandstraße (Business Improvement District, BID) sind vielfältig:

Sie sind Ansprechpartner für alle Berliner, Geschäftsleute und Gäste, egal ob es um die nächste U-Bahn-Station geht oder um Fragen rund um den Besuch des Quartiers BLVD Ku’damm.

Sie helfen mit Auskünften zu Öffnungszeiten, Angeboten von Geschäften und Programmen der Kultureinrichtungen weiter. Auch bei der Parkplatzsuche sind sie mit Tipps zum nächsten Parkhaus unterstützend tätig.

Mit Polizei, Ordnungsamt und der Berliner Stadtreinigung stehen sie im regelmäßigen Austausch.

City Guides Tel.: +4915154460681

BLVD-KU'DAMM - WELCOMECARD

Die „Welcome Card“ für unsere Gäste

Die „Berlin Welcome Card“, das offizielle Touristenticket für die Hauptstadt, bietet viele Vorteile. Sie ist der Fahrschein für alle öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel und ermöglicht Ihnen eine beliebige Anzahl an Fahrten. Sie profitieren von Ermäßigungen bis zu 50 Prozent bei vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten und Attraktionen. Ein Stadtführer mit Stadtplan ist integriert. Alternativ können Sie sich auch für die Variante „all inclusive“ mit freiem Eintritt bei vielen Highlights entscheiden.

Für die zeitliche Dauer sind verschiedene Varianten möglich. So gibt es die WelcomeCard für 48 Stunden ab 24 Euro oder für 72 Stunden ab 34 Euro. Zusätzlich werden 4, 5 oder 6 Tages-Tickets angeboten. Sie müssen sich entscheiden, ob das Berliner Stadtgebiet besucht werden soll oder Sie auch einen Ausflug in das Umland und nach Potsdam unternehmen wollen.

Die WelcomeCard ist familienfreundlich: Bis zu drei Kinder im Alter zwischen 6 und 14 Jahren fahren pro WelcomeCard in den Bussen und Bahnen kostenfrei mit. Kinder unter 6 Jahren sind inkludiert.

Erhältlich ist die WelcomeCard vor der Anreise als Online-Ticket oder als Versandticket im Online Shop von „visitBerlin“. Man erhält sie aber auch an den Verkaufsstellen der Verkehrsunternehmen sowie an den Ticketautomaten von S- und U-Bahn. Sollten Sie Ihre WelcomeCard am Automaten erwerben, erhalten Sie Ihren Guide unter Vorlage des Tickets in den „Berlin Tourist Info“-Shops, zum Beispiel im Hauptbahnhof, im Humboldt Forum oder am Brandenburger Tor. Darüber hinaus bieten viele Reisebüros, Hotels und Veranstalter die WelcomeCard als Service an.

Weitere Infos unter
www.visitberlin.de/de/berlin-welcome-card
www.berlin-welcomecard.de

BLVD-KU'DAMM - FREE WIFI

Kostenfrei ins Netz

Beim Sightseeing Informationen zu den Gebäuden der Stadt recherchieren, schnell Eintrittskarten für das Theater am Abend besorgen oder den Tisch reservieren – das ist jetzt kostenfrei möglich mit dem BLVD Ku’damm Wifi.

In der City West auf ca. 1,2 km entlang des Ku’damms und Tauentziens und rund um den Breitscheidplatz gibt es für Berlinerinnen und Besucherinnen jetzt kostenfrei öffentliches WiFi. Die Immobilien- und Standortgemeinschaft „BID Ku’damm Tauentzien“ stellt diesen Service zur Verfügung.

Wählen Sie sich einfach auf Ihrem Gerät bei „BID Wireless“ ein. Neben dem kostenfreien WiFi erhalten Sie über die Landing Page zusätzliche Informationen, beispielsweise zu verkaufsoffenen Sonntagen, Kulturveranstaltungen oder speziellen Marketingaktionen.